Old Town Cemetery
Although the Old Town Cemetery on the southern shore of Lake Druskonis is no longer used, it still retains the unique and mysterious aura of a typical 19th century cemetery. Catholics were buried on one side of the old resort cemetery, whilst Orthodox believers were to spend their afterlife on the other. In the central part, you can also find graves belonging to the town’s former Protestant community. On the Catholic side is a neo-Gothic chapel built by the wealthy local Kiersnovski family, which, unfortunately, is no longer in operation, and on the Orthodox side of the cemetery are the ruins of St. Gabriel’s Chapel and a crypt holding the earthly remains of several members of the Erbstein-Giuliani family.
In 1878, doctor Jonas Pileckis, a big fan of the resort, and the parents of the famous Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis, Konstantinas and Adelė, were buried here.
The first person to be buried in the cemetery, a beggar of the Druskininkai church originating from the Kingdom of Poland, was laid to rest here in 1858.